• This Discussion Thread has 14 replies, 13 voices, and was last updated 1 month ago by Shannon.
Viewing 11 reply threads
  • Author
      Sharon

After graduation, you have received your temporary RN registration and are working in a long-term care home. You have several patients that require the use of a mechanical lift to transfer to their wheelchairs. The PSWs on the floor are familiar with the lift however today there was a new PSW on the unit and she will need teaching around this for her first patient. Are you able to delegate this task to the PSW? Y/N and why?

Tara

No, someone in the temporary class is not able to delegate any tasks. This requires practicing under the general class

Adetutu

No I will not delegate this assignment to the Psw until I am sure she has the skill and knowledge.

Adetutu

No I will not delegate this assignment to the Psw because I am a nurse with a temporary license,.

Adetutu

No I will not delegate this assignment to the Psw because I am a nurse with a temporary license,so I will perform the task .

Courtney

No, you are not able to delegate tasks until you are fully registered as a Nurse and under a general, extended or emergency class.

Antoinette

No delegation cannot be performed by a Nurse in the temporary class.

Patrice

No, a nurse holding a temporary class is not allowed to delegate any task

Brittany

No a nurse under a temporary license is not able to delegate.

Ayotunde

A nurse under a temporary licence is not able to delegate.

Amber

A nurse is unable to delegate with a temporary license.

Judith

I will not delegate, I am a temporary RN but will look for another competent staff to assist me with the task to avoid falls.

Adeola

I cannot delegate this task to the PSW because I have a temporary license. I will look for another RN and notify them of the situation.

Coleen