• This Discussion Thread has 5 replies, 4 voices, and was last updated 2 weeks, 3 days ago by John-paul.
Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      Sharon

Your Experience of Coaching

• What has been your experience with coaching? Have you used a coach? Have you coached others or observed coaching?
      • What surprised you about what you read?
      • What are the implications for your practice?

Katisha

As a nurse I have been put into positions where I would offer coaching not only to patients but colleagues as well. Most coaching scenarios which arised has positive outcomes. I have used a coach/mentor for some time in the past which helped me on my nursing journey.

What surprised me about what I read is the role other healthcare assistants play when it comes to coaching patients about the their plan since this often not fully discussed with their MD.

Ensuring our clients are present in their plan of care, as well as continue to follow along and be apart of the care plan. Family and friends can also take part to ensure the client is aware of what is expecting and allow a sense of understanding and independence.

Danisha

My experience coaching has been when working in palliative care and coaching families on signs ti look for at the end of life. As well as what things look fir the client and how to best carry out their wishes.

The implications for my practice to develop clear guidelines and structure on how to effectively coach patients to obtain and meet their goals.

John-paul

Hi Danisha and Katisha,

Thanks for your contributions to this module!