Viewing 8 reply threads
  • Author
      Sharon

Pick one of the Leadership characteristics in the chapter you read above that you feel is the most important in a leader. Describe a personal situation about yourself or a leader that supports why you feel that characteristic is the most important.

Sandra

I believe that communication is the most important role in being a leader. If we aren’t communicating with other staff members then the care to the patients will not always have a good outcome. I work in a hospital and as a senior staff with all the new nurses coming in we have to communicate with our experiences on how to do lots of tasks and I fine that they really need it in todays work. We also have psws on our floor and they always thank me for telling them how the patients transfer or what they are isolated with because they don’t get any kind of report they go in blind with the patients.

Melanie

Communication is definitely very important. Everyone involved in the circle of care should receive the same information and all work together to achieve the same goals/outcomes for the patients. Having regular communication from all those involved and receiving feedback is very helpful. Open and honest communications and ensuring everyone is on the same page is a must.

Melanie

I think dependability is the characteristic most important in my Leader. She is completely transparent in her communication with myself and our team. She is open and honest at all times and very dependable. She is someone you can rely on and trust that she has our best interests at heart. She always makes herself available if we have questions or something urgent comes up. She never misses work unless it’s booked vacation. She is dependable and reliable which I find are great qualities in a leader.

Taraneh