Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      Sharon

Health Care Reform – How does it affect nurses?

Katie

As someone working in the Community Nursing Sector in Ontario we have been preparing for these reforms for several years through the development of care pathways. The provider I work for if a for profit company that strives to provide the best possible care and service to its clients. This is achievable more so when we remove the red tape and ‘middle man’ that so often slows the system to a halt. When providers are able to have clinicians use their knowledge skill and judgment to improve outcomes of our clients it not only makes financial sense but you see the ability to reward nurses for a job well done, putting the autonomy back into the profession. Both of these result in improved work environments and client outcomes.

Eve

Hi Katie. This sounds like an interesting approach. Although I don’t have experience working as a community nurse, I have participated in using community skills nursing without holding an official job as a community nurse through an agency. Some experiences have been very positive, stepping outside my traditional roles in LTC. It’s great to hear community nursing thriving in areas. I do feel working in the roles I have, the system is integrated at times and we do learn from one another, however, this seems more guarded. At my workplace, the use of community nurses and paramedics from the community, has really been an asset and great help at times when needed, as well as, when those opportunities have come to work with these individuals, the sharing of their knowledge base is invaluable, when facing an imbalance of supply and demand in the past few years.

Jen

Hi Katie,