• This Discussion Thread has 7 replies, 5 voices, and was last updated 2 weeks, 3 days ago by Jeanette.
Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      Sharon

Think of a time you had an intentional leadership conversation

Jeanette

In my career as a nurse I can think of a time where I had an intentional leadership conversation. This past week I had a conversation with my nursing staff about collecting social demographic information on clients in the practice. This has been done regularly in the past but since COVID it has not been done. All the nurses are newer to the Health Center so they are not familiar to this process. I explained the purpose of why we collect this detailed information to the nurses. Heath Centre collects the information purposely for funding. If we can prove to our funders that our client population would benefit from certain programs due to lack of income or size of family then our chances of getting the funding are higher. Which in turn helps the clients. For example we have funding for a grocery program which allows clients to receive groceries for a cheaper cost and we have funding to have programs for clients that are new immigrants to come and learn English. When I gave the nurses the details of the questions I could tell there was going to be some that were not happy with this task, as I know it is another task to do. So instead of telling the nurses this needs to be done and on every client, I decided that it would be best to start with our English speaking clients first. This way everyone could get familiar with the questions and ease into the process. I felt the change in the way the nurses reacted to this new added task. There was positive feed back that they thought starting off easy was a smart way to start the process. I also asked the nurses if we could check in in 2 weeks time to get there feed back on how it was working. I booked the time right away in the schedule. Their feedback will be useful for implanting the questions on rest