Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      Sharon

Where there any surprises with the results; both yours and the research results, please share one finding that you were surprised about and why?

Katie

When I looked at my own results, it was clear that I have my own disconnect with the state of the RPN program, as a 1994 certificate graduate the programs have come leaps and bounds but even as a Clinical Manager I do not have a clear understanding of what the current program entails. I am sure I am not alone in this.

Jeanette

Katie,
        I really value your honesty about how things have changes in the RPN scope of practice. You and many others do not have a clear understanding of the changes . Lots of work places don’t keep up to date on the changes within the scope of practice. It really makes it hard for newer nurses who are taught all these great skills and a work places says you can’t do it because it’s not in your scope.
        I am taking this course to facilitate change in my current work place.

Johanna

I was surprised how question #17 aligned with my own experience. “There is a wide variability in how the full scope of the role of RPN is enacted (e.g. unit to unit, regionally, by program).”
      I was surprised to realize that I have experienced this wide variability in my own work experience. I the last nursing home that I worked at, RPNs were directly supervised by an RN manager. Our charting was monitored, and our nursing judgements were often questioned. This resulted in creating a culture of self-doubt and dependence, where RPNs were encouraged not to work to their full scope of practice.