• This Discussion Thread has 5 replies, 5 voices, and was last updated 4 days, 17 hours ago by Roxanne.
Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      Sharon

Tell us a little about yourself and why you’re interested in this course!

April

Hello everyone!
      My name is April Preisentanz, I am an Indigenous nurse and have been working for Waasegiizhig Nanaadawe’Iyewigamig Health Access Centre (WNHAC) for 14 years. I spent 13 years working in primary care as a clinic nurse care coordinator, and the last year as an Interprofessional Team Coordinator providing direct supervision to inter-professional care teams. WNHAC has always been supportive of all nurses working to full scope, and as such I have had many opportunities for obtaining additional competencies over the years. I have chosen to complete leadership courses through WeRPN as a way of remaining connected to the field I chose, and supporting the advancement of practical nursing. One interesting fact about me, is that I have a feature article in the recently published Fall 2021 RPN Voices journal entitled “Leading from the Heart”.

Norma

Hello Everyone!

My name is Norma Tomlin and I am happy to be facilitating Leadership 4 Optimizing the scope of RPNs.
      I have been an RPN for 29 years and am happy to be representing RPNs at WeRPN as the Professional Practice Coordinator. In my role I get calls/emails on a regular bases from nurses who are both in leadership and at the point of care asking about what an RPN can and can not do within their scope. As you will all learn through this course to truly optimize RPNs one must have the knowledge and understanding about the roles of RPNs and the framework to know how to optimize and utilize RPNs in today’s healthcare system. Never before has it been so important that all the skill knowledge and judgement that nurses be fully maximized to meet the growing demand of our system. I look forward to supporting you all in your learning of this very important topic.